ADAPAO members and teen leaders celebrate prevention

A crisp fall day welcomed ADAPAO and our guests to the Groveport for the 8th Annual ADAPAO Garden Party on October 22. ADAPAO recognized youth prevention leaders from four regions of the state, and those gathered enjoyed scrumptious food, musical entertainment, and the shared camaraderie of dedication to prevention.

"We always welcome opportunities to celebrate Ohio's prevention community and the tremendous work our members are engaged in within their communities," said ADAPAO President Aimee Wade. "The historic setting of the Groveport Log House and Heritage Park provided a beautiful backdrop for an invigorating gathering of our members and our young prevention leaders."

Presentation of the inaugural ADAPAO Youth Prevention Awards was the highlight of the Garden Party. ADAPAO recognized Cameron Justice, Dajue Newell, Gregory Weber, and the Youth Leadership Council of Licking County for their contributions to prevention alcohol, tobacco, and other drug use and other behavioral health problems.

"The youth we honored today are exceptional and are doing exceptional things in our communities," noted Mary Marvel, who serves on the ADAPAO board of directors. "The future of prevention is in solid hands." (Narrative on each award recipient is available at the Youth Leaders tab.)

Educator, musician, and prevention advocate Catherine Dison shared her musical talents, and Central Ohio restaurants and grocers provided a smorgasbord of food for our guests, who also bid on myriad items in the event's silent auction.

Handcrafted commemorative garden stones were presented to our event sponsors: Community for New Direction, CompDrug, Inc./Youth to Youth International, Heiberger Paving, Inc., and Maryhaven, Inc. Barbara Adams Marin won the drawing for a garden stone, presented to one member of the nearly 50 members of the Host Committee.

As ADAPAO's signature fundraising event, the Garden Party provides funding for the association's advocacy and education initiatives.

Host Committee/Ticket Options

Host Donations & Tickets

2016 ADAPAO Garden Party Host Committee

Much appreciation to the members of the Host Committee for their financial contribution to the Garden Party and their ongoing support of ADAPAO!

Barbara Adams Marin
Philip Atkins & Roger Gill
Lee Balser
Chelcie & Matt Beadnell
Cynthia Brown-Chery
Deb & Drew Chany
Tammy Collins
Craig & Danieli Comedy
John & Angela Dawson
GeorgiAnn Diniaco
Diane Dockrill
Nettie Ferguson
Vici Geer
Frances & Don Gerbig
Mary Haag & Steve Schultz
Robin S. & Bob Hicks

Lori Higgins & Tom Kelechi
Andrea & John Hoff
Gregory Jefferson
Tommy & Candace Koopman
Roni & Denver Leport
Lorrie & Rich Lewandowski
Maggie Livisay
William & Carol Livisay
Randi & Jeff Love
Holley & Rob Martens
Mary Marvel
Dee Mason & Doug Cosner
Traci Mason
Bethany & Ken Matthews
Janice N. McLean
Linda & Lee Miller

Monica Mlinac
Tia Moretti
Bobby Persinger
Karen & Jim Pierce
Roselin Runnels & Judy Nablo
Jim Ryan
Stellie Ryan
Marcie Seidel
Allison Sharer
Hope & Bob Taft
Zach Thomas & Craig VanRenterghem
Aimee & Ryan Wade
Jean & Jack Wesseler
Brad & Maryanne WIse
Katrina Wyche
Blake C. Zitko


2016 ADAPAO Garden Party Supporting Sponsors

Our sponsors are the foundation of the ADAPAO Garden Party. We appreciate their leadership and support in ADAPAO's work to champion prevention in Ohio.

ADAPAO Garden Party Donors

Many businesses, organizations, and individuals donated items or volunteer service to the ADAPAO Garden Party. We appreciate their contributions to the event.